How Do I Cancel a Gmail Email Address?

Grab the Free Email Inbox Mastery eBook

How Do I Delete a Gmail Account?
Then, click the Delete Gmail button. Start with the quick video screencast below or dig into the written tutorial instructions that follow. Contact support and explain what your problem is. They may switch email addresses and continue to send the unwanted messages. How do I delete a Gmail account of a former user from my computer without impacting the account? Your email address is associated with the Google account as your primary email address and username.

What happens when you delete your Gmail service

Delete your Gmail service

Enter the "Code" shown in the box, and then select "Yes, terminate this account. Click the "Help" link located at the upper portion of the window. Type "close account" in the search box provided and browse through the search results. Select "Close your account," and then follow the on-screen process of closing the account. Instructions may be different if you have a free or paid subscription.

Log on to your Gmail account. Click "Settings" located at the upper portion of the screen. When you are satisfied that it's correct, type your password and click the Sign in button. The Delete a Google service screen appears:. That you are given another chance to download your data before you delete your Gmail account. If you have more than one Google service, they will be listed on this screen.

Scroll down to Gmail. To delete your Gmail account, click the trash icon to the right. You'll be prompted to provide an email address so that you can use other Google services such as Google Drive and Calendar: Type the email address you will use from now on to access Google service into the space. Click the Send Verification Email button on the lower right. You cannot use an email address that is already associated with another Google account.

After you've typed the new email that you will use to check your Google account, instructions appear on the screen:. Click the Got It button in the lower right corner. Even though you've already selected the trash icon next to Gmail, you must confirm the Gmail account deletion. Click in the checkbox to confirm that you really want to delete this Gmail address. Then, click the Delete Gmail button. Click the Done button and close the Account preferences screen.

After your Gmail address is deleted, you can no longer send messages to it. Here is an example of how a message sent to your deleted Gmail account will bounce back to the sender:.

After your Gmail account has been deleted, there may be a short period during which you can recover your account. However, you shouldn't count on being able to recover your account. Now that you've deleted your unwanted Gmail address, you may want to set up a new Gmail address.

Here is a tutorial to help you:. Keep in mind that deleting your Gmail account is permanent and a drastic step. If your email inbox has gotten overloaded with unwanted messages and way too cluttered, you can take back control. Discover how to apply the best email management techniques now.

Permanently deleting your Gmail account is a serious step, but sometimes it's necessary. If your account has been hacked or if it's overrun by spam, you may be wondering, "how do I delete my Gmail account? If you have to close a Gmail account, it's possible to do it quickly and permanently. Just make sure to first back up all your data, check for any third party services attached to your Gmail, and notify your contacts.

Then, follow the instructions in this tutorial to remove your Gmail address from your Google account. Grab the Free Email Inbox Mastery eBook If you're considering deleting your account become your inbox is getting too disorganized or overloaded with emails, then we have a great solution for you: If you're still determined to delete your Gmail account though, then let's get to it. Forward important messages to your new email before de-activating your Gmail account.

Even if you're careful, it's easy to forget about that important message you archived months ago. If you didn't move it, it's gone when your email account is gone. Even if you notify everyone you know of the email address change, there's still a risk that someone out there is carrying around a business card with the old email address. If you forget a password, most accounts send a reset link to your email address.

If your email address is deleted, however, you may have trouble accessing your account. Someone Else Hacked Into Your Account While you may be tempted to immediately delete a hacked email account, there are some other steps you should take first. Here are some more Gmail security tips: Laura Spencer loves words, so after getting a business degree it's no wonder that she became a writer. In fact, she's been writing professionally for over 24 years.

She uses her business knowledge to help a wide variety of audiences. Laura has managed her own writing business since Before that, she worked in corporate America as a technical writer and as a marketing writer. Her current specialties are business writing, copywriting, editing, and web content. She's also co-authored two books for writers. Check out her latest ideas on her blog. Open the verification email from Google. It may take a few minutes to appear.

Click the link in the email to verify your new address. When your new address is verified, your Gmail account will be permanently deleted. What should I do if it says that my alternative email address is used? Contact support and explain what your problem is. It may take a bit of time, but they should be able to sort out the problem eventually. Not Helpful 4 Helpful If my account was hacked and I deleted that person, do I still have access to it? This Gmail will be permanently deleted and the hacker will probably lose the Gmail account as well.

First, you go into your Gmail account that you want to be deleted. Click on the little icon in the top-right hand corner of your screen where you usually sign out. Go on "my account," and go to the bottom of the box labelled account preferences, and click on delete account. Not Helpful 4 Helpful 8. I want Gmail to not appear on a phone I gave away.

How can I accomplish this? Not Helpful 5 Helpful 9. How do I delete a Gmail account of a former user from my computer without impacting the account? Follow the steps in method 2, and make the new sign in address your email.

Not Helpful 0 Helpful 2. Follow the directions in How to Remove Gmail Contacts to delete contacts. Not Helpful 0 Helpful 0.

How do I delete a Gmail account without my YouTube account also being deleted? Follow the steps in Method 2 to delete only your Gmail account without deleting your YouTube account. How do I delete my deceased parent's Gmail account if I do not have his password? You can try to reset the password ; if that does not work, then you can try to contact Google. Another person used my computer to access their Gmail account and it has remained.

How do I delete it and access my own account? You can log out of their account and then log in to your account. When I try to delete my account, It doesn't say "delete google account and data. Answer this question Flag as When I try to delete my account following the steps Google outlines, I can't. It only allows me to delete services and not the actual account. What do I need to do?

Video of the Day